Customer Service

Customer Service
Government and Corporate

Today I would like to talk about another facet of the cultural change this country is going through. A little thing called customer service. This was for years the backbone of both the government and the private sector. Gone are the days when elected officials will respond to questions from constituents. Here in WV we have elected legislators refusing to even acknowledge emails and/ or calls from those that elected them. I cite my own case of a man I supported in his election bid, now senator Robert Karnes of WV senate district 11. He has refused to respond to 5 telephone calls and numerous emails all concerning issues before the state legislature. I have been told by others in my district that he has done the same to them on a variety of issues. For Shame, Robert! Please understand the I have received courteous and responsive answers from legislators from other districts so they are not all as uncaring about the people as Senator Karnes.

The federal government is even worse about customer service these days as every politically aware person in the country knows. The IRS refusing to answer their phones??? The outgoing AG stating that his department was the most focused on justice in history? The presumptive Democrat’s nominee for president telling the American people the Government has the responsibility of changing the mores of our country. Christian values are destructive and need to go. Freedoms must be surrendered to her party’s concept of security. …… Excuse the pause. I had to go lose my breakfast.

This however, is only one part of a larger picture. We also have the private sector. The large corporations that have seemingly forgotten that paying close attention to customer needs was the corner stones of building their corporations. Sam Walton was a shining example of this. He built one of the largest fortunes in the world by building a company that was actually concerned about its customers. He used to walk through his stores talking to his customers. Getting their feedback and then acting on the knowledge gained.

I am going to relate a personal story on this subject. I have Sprint as my cellular company. I should say that my son has and I am one of the people included in the plan. You should know that the plan he has costs roughly $9000.00 per year so we are not a small item for them. I purchased the insurance plan to cover my phone should it be lost, stolen or just quit working. Should be no problem, right? Wait for it.

My Windows phone went dead. That is no surprise as Windows phones have to be the worst possible on the market, unfortunately changing to a decent one is VERY costly with Sprint. On with the tale of their so called customer service. I notified them that my phone was totally dead. Would not even turn on. I was without a phone, period. I informed them of my insurance and jumped through their security hoops to get to what I thought was the right person. “No problem”, they said we will send one right out. They took down and confirmed my address three times. Naturally they sent it to the wrong address. They sent it to my son who is a long distance trucker driving with his wife. They won’t even be home until the middle of May! This was February. I placed another call. Understand I was using a friends phone that had limited minutes which I for which I had to pay, The person I was talking to kept me on that phone with inanities until the phone ran out of minutes. He had told me several times that he was sending out the phone and had once again confirmed the correct address several times. I had warned him that I was running out of minutes. The phone went dead. I was disconnected.

I wasn’t worried. He had all of the information and had told me he was sending out the phone. I waited a week. No phone. I called back. There was not even a record of my last call. No action was taken. Long, tedious and very frustrating story made quite a bit shorter, I finally did receive the phone. Over 45 days after my original call! The phone they sent? Obviously a used one. And it DOES NOT WORK! Will not connect to WiFi, Cannot use it for driving directions because it cannot connect to the service. The phone portion is fraught with so many problems it is almost unusable. Conversations are broken even when I show 5 bars. Here we go again.
Customer service by both private industry and the government is at an all time low. The average citizen in this country has only the still quiet voice crying in the wilderness to money hungry politicians and an uncaring group of corporate thieves and corrupt politicians and we just put up with it. Well, most of you do.

I have said it before and I say it again. Those who believe in what this country was founded upon need to Stand Up! Speak up! Show up!

Leave a Reply

